Early Voting Begins Today

Early voting for the Tuesday, August 11 runoff elections begins today. All Democrat and Republican voters in Glynn, Camden, Brantley and McIntosh counties registered to cast ballots in the June primaries are eligible to participate in the early voting or in the Aug. 11 runoff whether they voted last month or not. Voters must request the same party ballot they asked for in June.

Local Republicans on the ballot include: Sheila McNeill and David Sharpe who are seeking the Senate District 3 seat held by William Ligon, who is not running. No Democrats qualified to run for this seat.

Glynn Republicans will also choose between Bo Clark and Walter Rafolski for the County Commission At Large Post #2 seat currently held by Bob Coleman. The winner will face Democrat Taylor Ritz in November.

Democrats will choose between Joyce Marie Griggs and Lisa M. Ring for the District One U.S. House of Representatives seat. The winner will face incumbent Buddy Carter in November.

Camden County Democrats will choose between Monica McGowan and Kevin Walker for the District 1 county commission seat. The winner will face Republican incumbent Lannie Brant.

Early voting will run from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays from today through Aug. 7. Polls will also be open Saturday, Aug. 1, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Voting locations in Glynn County include: the Board of Elections office at 1815 Gloucester St., the Ballard Community Building at 301 Nimitz Road and Fire Station 2 at 1929 Demere Rd. on St. Simons Island. Sanitation at polling places will be key and social distancing will be enforced. Masks are encouraged, but not mandated.

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content